fbpx
Home News Sunset Sessions | Blacktown Showground Precinct

Sunset Sessions | Blacktown Showground Precinct

by Emily McTaggart

The Sunset Sessions run every night during the Blak Box – Four Winds season at the Blacktown Showground Precinct.

Listen to live entertainment each night, enjoy refreshments from our donation bar, and grab a bite to eat at the adjacent Groundskeeper Cafe before your session inside Blak Box.

WEEK 1 

Friday 11 January 2019
6.45 pm  and 8 pm
DJ Black President
Bow down to DJ Black President (aka Leo Tanoi) as he governs the people with his unique blend of hip hop, soul, funk and electronic vibes – specially curated for the Blak Box – Four Winds experience.

Saturday 12 January 2019
6.45 pm  and 8 pm
DJ Black President 

Sunday 13 January 2019
6.45 pm  and 8 pm
DJ Black President 


WEEK 2

Tuesday 15 January 2019
6.45 pm  and 8 pm
DJ Black President

Wednesday 16 January 2019
6.45 pm  and 8 pm
Emma Donovan & friends

Emma Donovan returns home to Blacktown to uphold the Donovan family tradition of great music and sublime song with her uncles.

Thursday 17 January 2019
6.45 pm  and 8 pm
Montanah Grace

At just 11 years of age, Montanah Grace is known as “the little girl with a big voice.” Hailing from Penrith, Montanah will blow you away with her beautiful ballads.

Friday 18 January 2019
6.45 pm  and 8 pm
DJ Black President

Saturday 19 January 2019
5 pm
The Art of Blak Space

with Kevin O’Brien, Linda Kennedy and Daniela Hromek, facilitated by curator, Daniel Browning.
Join this panel of maverick First Nations designers and architects who are paving the way with their culturally informed and inspired practice.
Register your interest: rsvp@urbantheatre.com.au
6.45 pm and 8 pm
DJ Black President


WEEK 3

Tuesday 22 January 2019
6.45 pm and 8 pm
DJ Black President

Wednesday 23 January 2019
6.45 pm and 8 pm
Eric Avery & friends

Join resident composer Eric Avery and his friends as he combines violin, loop pedal and song to express his Ngiyampaa, Yuin, Bandjalung and Gumbangirr traditions.

Thursday 24 January 2019
6.45 pm and 8 pm
Solid Ground

Sharna Power and Luis Jimenesd-Lobolo from Evans High School perform their own indie songs with special guest artist Montanah Grace.

Friday 25 January 2019
6.45 pm and 8 pm
DJ Black President 

Saturday 26 January 2019
5 pm
Meet the artists

Join a conversation with Uncle Wes Marne, Aunty Edna Watson, Savarna Russell and Shaun Millwood, facilitated by Four Winds curator, Daniel Browning.

6.45 pm and 8 pm
DJ Black President 

Sunday 27 January 2019
6.45 pm and 8 pm
DJ Black President 


WEEK 4

Tuesday 29 January 2019
6.45 pm and 8 pm
DJ Black President 

Wednesday 30 January 2019
6.45 pm and 8 pm
Emma Donovan and Eric Avery

Emma and Eric have created something really special with their new compositions for Blak Box – Four Winds. Join them for this special one-off performance.

Thursday 21 January 2019
6.45 pm and 8 pm
DJ Black President 

Friday 1 February 2019
6.45 pm and 8 pm
DJ Black President 

Saturday 2 February 2019
5 pm
Meet the artists

Join a conversation with Uncle Wes Marne, Aunty Edna Watson, Savarna Russell and Shaun Millwood, facilitated by Four Winds curator, Daniel Browning.
6.45 pm and 8 pm
DJ Blak President 

 

The Blak Box Sunset Sessions are proudly supported by Blacktown Arts, and Suzy Wolanski and family.

Blak Box – Four Winds
Dates | 9 January – 2 February 2019
Location | Blacktown Showground Precinct
Tickets | $35 + booking fee 
BOOKINGS 

Photo credit
Emma Donovan. Photograph by Ceasar Rodrigues.

Related Posts